It was while composing the soundtrack to mini-series ‘Rastignac ou les ambitieux’ that Christophe called upon Yoan’s talents. The two met working at DDB and kept their collaboration going ever since. In 2004, they founded CaleSon and set themselves up in one recording studio, quickly followed by three more, near Place de la République, in Paris.

Always paying close attention to musical trends, they remain craftsmen of sound, while perfecting their work tool. Simply put, the first one is on the guitar, the second one at the piano. They compose, play, try various tunes, give up on some, write tirelessly. The workload is heavy but the chemistry is undeniably there, the music is delivered, the director satisfied. Soon, a team is born, as Shany and Louis come aboard. They also receive outside help from the likes of Abby, Virgile, Loris and Arthur.

Christophe

Composer

CaleSon’s co-founder, along with Yoan. Although he wanted to be a singer in the 80s, he chose to study classical guitar and musical writing at the conservatoire. Decidedly influenced by The Who’s Who’s Next, he draws from the sounds of Led Zeppelin, the Peter Gabriel years of Genesis, Yes, and some jazz rock (Di Meola, Herbie Hancock, Jamie Cullum), let his inner grunge loose when Nirvana came out, and is always willing to draw inspiration from Massive Attack’s trip hop, Michael Jackson’s and Fink’s repertoires, or even from opera and classical music.

Yoan

Sound Engineer

He cofounded CaleSon with Christophe. Following piano and percussions training at the Grenoble conservatoire, he went to the Ecole supérieure d’études cinématographiques and then took up a sound producer position at advertising agency DDB. Though he grew up listening to classical music, Yoan soon immersed himself in film scores (Alexandre Desplat, Harry Gregson-Williams…), developed a taste for jazz (Oscar Peterson, Michel Petrucciani), then reggae, hip hop and rock, and worships Prince. In short, he listens to a bit of everything but has some preferences.

Shany

Production Manager

Shany joined CaleSon as production manager in late 2016. Not unlike the rest of the team, music always played a big part in her life. A graduate of Cifacom audiovisual school, though her daily work is quite technical (quotes, financing, casting…), she does not abandon her first love, listening to acoustic covers of her favourite songs whenever the occasion arises. And because music is not all there is to life, Shany is also passionate about fashion.

Louis

Sound Engineer

A member of the team since 2015, Louis is a sound engineer who graduated from Institut supérieur des techniques du son (ISTS). After receiving a first-rate training in sound recording and mixing, he started working as a production assistant before making the switch to sound engineering. Like his colleagues, Louis is a born musician, who plays the guitar and the harmonica. Fond of ‘black music’, when he is not at the turntable, he listens to hip hop, soul, funk, blues… and never objects to some classical musical.

Loris

Sound Mixer

Loris, who holds a university diploma in art with a minor in music and was valedictorian of his graduating class at SAE Institute, works mainly on film soundtracks. Thus, he is required to have as wide a knowledge of music as possible, although his personal tastes lean towards rock, punk, hip hop, trip hop, dubstep, drum’n’bass… and classical music. When he is not busy at the mixing deck, he plays the guitar, does karate or snowboarding, and explores Asia.

Abby

Creative Director

Abby occasionally assists CaleSon on their projects, as artistic director. A former violinist, who studied art history at the Sorbonne and went to the New York Institute of Technology she draws from various musical genres (pop, soul, or hip hop). Nevertheless, if one were to paint a full portrait of Abby, he or she would necessarily have to bring up design and architecture, her other two passions.

C’est au moment de composer la musique de la série “Rastignac ou les ambitieux” que Christophe fait appel aux talents de Yoan. Les deux hommes se sont connus chez DDB et ne se quitteront plus. En 2004 ils fondent CaleSon où ils installent un premier studio d’enregistrement suivi rapidement de trois autres près de la place de la république.

Ils gardent une oreille sur tout et restent des artisans du son, tout en perfectionnant leur outil de travail. Pour faire simple, le premier est à la guitare, le deuxième au piano. Ils composent, jouent, essaient des mélodies, en abandonnent certaines, écrivent sans relâche. Le travail est intensif, l’alchimie fonctionne, la musique est livrée, le réalisateur comblé. Une équipe est née. Shany et Louis les rejoignent. Quatre CaleSon dans le vent, épaulés par des compétences extérieures : Abby, Virgile, Loris et Arthur.

Christophe

Compositeur

Cofondateur, avec Yoan, de CaleSon. S’il voulait être chanteur dans les années 80, il suit une formation de guitare classique et d’écriture musicale au conservatoire. Marqué par le Who’s Next des Who, il se nourrit de Led Zepelin, de Genesis période Peter Gabriel, des Yes, de jazz rock (Al Di Meola, Herbie Hancock, Jamie Cullum), dévore sa part de grunge au moment où Nirvana déboule, et n’hésite pas à aller du côté du trip hop de Massive Attack, de la musique de Michael Jackson et de Fink, voire de l’opéra et du classique.  

Yoan

Ingénieur du son

Il est le cofondateur, avec Christophe, de CaleSon. Après une formation de pianiste et de percussionniste au conservatoire de Grenoble, il passe par l’Ecole supérieure d’études cinématographiques puis pose ses valises à l’agence DDB où il devient producteur son. S’il a grandi au son de la musique classique, il plonge dans les musiques de films (Alexandre Desplat, Harry Gregson-Williams…), passe par le jazz (Oscar Peterson, Michel Petrucciani) puis le reggae, le hip hop et le rock et voue un culte particulier à Prince. Bref, il écoute de tout mais a des préférences.

Shany

Chargée de production

Arrivée fin 2016, elle est chargée de production. Comme toute l'équipe, elle a baigné dans la musique depuis toute petite. Passée par l'école audiovisuelle Cifacom, son travail est technique (devis, financement, casting...), mais elle ne délaisse pas ses premières amours et écoute dès qu'elle en a l'occasion des reprises acoustiques de ses morceaux fétiches. Et parce qu'il n'y a pas que la musique dans la vie, Shany est également passionnée de mode.

Louis

Ingénieur du son

Arrivé en 2015, il est ingénieur du son diplômé de l’Institut supérieur des techniques du son. Après une solide formation d’enregistrement et de mixage musical, il commence comme assistant de production avant de devenir ingénieur du son. Comme toute l’équipe CaleSon, c’est avant tout un musicien : guitare et harmonica. Fan de black musique, lorsqu’il ne se trouve pas derrière les platines, il écoute du hip hop, de la soul, du funk, du blues… et n’hésite pas à aller voir du côté de la musique classique.

Loris

MIXEUR SON

Loris est mixeur. Titulaire d'un DEUG art option musique, major de sa promotion du SAE Institute, il travaille principalement sur les musiques de films. De fait, il se doit d'avoir une culture musicale la plus large possible même si ses goûts le portent vers le rock, le punk, le hip hop, le trip hop, le dubstep, la drum'n bass... et le classique. Quand il n'est pas derrière la console, il joue de la guitare, fait du karaté ou du snowboard et voyage dans les pays asiatiques.

Abby

DIRECTRICE ARTISTIQUE

Abby accompagne l'équipe sur certains projets en tant que directrice artistique. Ancienne violoniste, passée par la fac d'histoire de l'art de la Sorbonne et le New York Institute of Technology, elle se nourrit de toutes sortes de musiques (pop, soul ou hip-hop). Mais s'il on devait faire un portrait complet d'Abby, il ne faudrait pas oublier de consacrer un chapitre au design et à l'architecture, ses deux autres passions.